123Notary
Enter Zip, City, or County... i.e. orange,NY or 90019
Search Method:    regular time edocs


US > New York Notary > New York County > New York > Peter Shay
Write a Review for Peter Shay > Read Reviews for Peter Shay
Read reviews for Peter Shay, New York Notary Public
510 East 80th Street New York, NY 10075

I was in New York for a Friday stopover on business and had to fly overseas the next afternoon. I found out late Friday night that i would have to have a document notarized and Fedexed before i left the country. After calling a few notaries on the 123 website with no luck on a Friday night, Peter answered my call and said he could help me the next morning, no problem. He came to my hotel and was 10 minutes early and i was 15 minutes late but Peter waited patiently and when i offered to compensate him for waiting he politely declined. His work was quick and efficient and we completed in 15 minutes. Peter made sure that i knew where the closest Fedex office was ( and offered to walk me there as well) and I was able to deliver my notarized document to Fedex and get to the airport on time. This could have been a stressful situation for me but Peter had me covered and it all went smoothly. His rates are fair and competitive to boot. Thanks Peter!

brian aamoth on 2/10/2019 10:57:36 AM

Whatever is the HIGHEST RATING possible to give Mr. Peter Shay, that is what my rating and experience has been. Peter went far beyond the call of duty, (without going into all the drama that occurred at the hospital, where he was to officiate being a notary for a family member.)
Let's suffice to say that he is not only a pro, but an extremely patient and caring individual. I chose him randomly from this 123 Notary.com site and now, I would recommend him emphatically to any person who is in need of his professional services...one thousand percent!
Peter, if you're reading this.. thank you for hanging in there with all the chaos and yet still getting the job done.

To all the rest of the folks searching to find the best person for notary services...your search is over..call
Peter Shay.

End of review,
Donna

Donna  on 1/31/2019 12:16:09 PM

Peter was an excellent choice for many reasons. He was punctual, knowledgeable and had meticulous attention to detail. I would not hesitate to recommend him. He saved me much time and aggravation.

M Landau on 1/25/2019 10:38:56 AM

I contracted Mr. Shay as a Notary for a closing and had a wonderful experience working with him. He was very thorough and patient with the transaction. HE stuck with the deal even with two schedule changes on my end, and made sure my client understood what he was signing. I will definitely use his services again.

Magda Loureiro on 1/24/2019 8:05:57 AM

Mr Shay was hired to have my client sign and notarize some documents for a closing that usually take no longer than 15 mins. It took him 1 hour to do this. He was questioning and intimidating my client instead of just explaining the documents to him he was very intrusive asking questions on numbers and assets that my client had which had nothing to do with this particular transaction. I called him on the phone to tell him that my client had to go back to work that he needed to speed up the process a little bit he was rude on phone and hung up the phone on me. Other than that he was knowledgeable, and on time. Mr Shay needs to understand that he is not supposed to ask those kinds of questions he just has to explain the documents the person is signing and thats it.

Rasmy Muhamed on 1/19/2019 6:06:08 AM

Notary's responses:
On Tuesday 1/15/19 I confirmed a 1/16/19 12PM closing with Supreme Title and Escrow of Davie, FL. I was instructed to meet client Diego Ignacio Perez Tovar in the lobby of Chase Manhattan Bank at 471 West 42 Street. A name listed on the confirmation was “selling agent” Rasmy 718 501-1817.

I advised the title rep Elizabeth Castillo that I was unable to contact the client and was advised to call the ”selling agent” Rasmy. I called him and was advised curtly that I should just show up and meet the client, and not to ask questions. I was told that Mr Perez Tovar understood very little English. This set off a few red flags.

Just prior to me leaving for the closing, I received a call from Ms. Castillo that the CD and Alta settlement had been revised and “would I print the revised forms and replace the prior ones that I had already printed”? The funds due by his “co-borrower” Tahiana F. Monsalve Gomez, with a New York address but located in Florida amounted to $30,000. I wanted to make sure the signer would understand this. understood this. I also asked Ms Castillo to be available iif I had any questions during the signing. She gave me her cell phone number in case it was necessary for me to reach her.

I met Mr Tovar in the busy lobby at the Chase Bank branch and set down on a chair that had beside it a table about 18” in diameter. A woman arrived at 12 PM who seemed to be related to Mr Tovar and she sat down nearby. (Her spoken English was poor.) Mr Tovar arrived a few minutes after 12 and offered to shake my hand as a greeting but as he was aware that it was covered in grease (apparently having to do with his construction job nearby) pulling it back. He sat down and I photographed his IDs.

I opened up the package of 79 pages of docs and we proceeded to review them. It appeared from the outset that his English literacy was extremely poor and I decided to confirm to myself that he was cognizant about what he was about to sign. Although he appeared cognizant, he seemed not at all interested in ascertaining the details of which he was about to sign.

Apparently he was aware that he was a cosigner of this loan and was being advised by the “selling agent” Rasmy. Apparently he was advised (misinformed by Rasmy) that the signing was going to take 15 minutes, and that he could return to his job after a short absence. After about 40 minutes of signing He asked me if he could leave. I told him we would need about 15 more minutes. He walked out apparently to report to his manager that he would be taking a little longer and returned. (There were at least 25 places for him to sign including initialing 10 pages of the “Note.”

I did have one question for Ms Castillo regarding “Impound Authorization,” called her, but received no answer or return of my call.

About half way through the signing, Mr. Tovar made a call and shortly thereafter I received an intimidating call from Rasmy, who demanded that I finish up so Mr. Tovar could return to work. I had nothing to say to him and went back to the signing. I then received a text message copy (sent to the title company) from Rasmy complaining that I was taking too long. We finished the signing and I dropped off the docs at a nearby FEDEX location.

In summary, it appeared that the title company was allowing the “selling agent” to handle the details of this loan package, even though it would appear that Rasmy had a conflict of interest in having the documents signed and approved. Mr Rasmy seemed to want to take control of the process and tried to intimidate me at the same time trying to act on behalf of the borrower. Both the title company and the “selling agent” seemed to be aware that Mr Tovar had no comprehension of the English language but were intent on having him complete his share of the loan agreement, regardless of that fact.

My goal in completing this signing was to ensure that the signer was in fact whom he was purported to be, to be sure that he was cognizant, and to not allow a third party (one with no legal standing and having a conflict of interest) influence my task of executing the signing of the documents. I feel that the title company was remiss in carrying out its responsibility to the loan process. I did call Supreme Title to speak to the office manager to report my concern but was rebuffed by being told that there was none.

Peter Shay was HEROIC in getting my financing and deal done. What I thought was an incredible 150 different pages that needed to be notarized turned into close to 300. He stayed for twice the allotted time (4 hours instead of 2) and was a very kind and interesting gentleman to boot!

I would definitely highly recommend Peter; he is professional, punctual, and very detail oriented.

Thanks again Peter!

Mike

Mike  on 1/18/2019 8:05:40 AM

Excellent service. It was a rush situation - he was professional, prompt and great to work with.

Beth Sanders on 12/17/2018 8:36:26 AM

I called Peter on short notice after another NYC notary informed me at the last minute that they did not handle transactions involving quitclaim deeds. Peter immediately responded and agreed to handle the transaction for us. He did it flawlessly. I would highly recommend him.

Michael Dominy on 8/20/2017 5:52:23 PM

We called Peter Shay last minute. He was available and easily accommodated our tight schedule.He responded quickly as we worked out the where and when details. He came to the rehabilitation center where my mother signed the necessary papers. He is very professional, organized, punctual, well spoken, and courteous. I recommend him 100%.

M. Eisner on 3/23/2017 2:13:38 PM

Peter was very responsive and professional. Peter was very knowledgeable about the documents and the closing went very well! I would highly recommend Peter for your closing needs. I will defiantly use Peter again! Plus he is a veteran and from one veteran to another, thank you!

Tony Mannarino on 1/25/2017 7:35:43 AM

Mr. Shay was extremely professional and efficient. We hired him for a closing and he was quick to reply and confirm.

Our client was very happy with his service and he was courteous to call us and confirm receipt of all documents.

We would be happy to work again with Mr. Shay in the future!

Isabela Coutinho on 11/22/2016 10:43:13 AM

I called Peter for a last minute notary job outside of normal business hours. Not only was he extremely responsive, but he was able to get to the notary job across town within an hour. He was prepared and very thorough. If it weren't for Peter being so flexible and willing to help us notarize documents at a moments notice, the closing on our property would have been delayed. Thank you Peter for helping us out! If you are looking for a trustworthy, reliable notary, call Peter! I will absolutely use his services again in the future.

Ally Silver on 11/18/2016 3:25:42 PM

I contacted Mr.Shay on short notice and surprisingly he was available to provide notary services for a mortgage closing I had scheduled. He showed up to the closing 20 minutes early and fully prepared! Which I really appreciated.
I would definitely recommend using Mr.Shay for your notary needs.
Thank you again!

Carol Haas on 11/9/2016 1:05:25 PM

I am a partner in a law firm and have nothing but praise for Mr. Shay's integrity, precision and reliability. Mr. Shay takes his position as notary very seriously, going through documents meticulously so that things need not be redone because something was forgotten. I have had few experiences where that is the case. He is extremely reliable, always available when he says he will be and more than willing to check the accuracy of the documents before they are signed. He does not arrive at locations late and is fully prepared long before his arrival. I have had the opportunity to use his services as a notary and also to discuss questions with him when they arrive, both sides to the level of quality of his work and the surgical precision he employs when making certain that documents are signed in accordance with law and without error. I wold recommend Mr. Shay's services highly and would be more than happy to act as a reference.

Julie Globus on 11/7/2016 12:36:00 PM

 

Positive reviews
Please feel free to give any of our notaries a positive review at any time if they did a good job

Neutral reviews
If a notary got the job done but made a small mistake, that counts as a neutral review. Please politely say it like it is.

Negative reviews
123notary.com protects all of its notaries from slander and unfair reviews since a bad review could effect their business.. If you had a bad experience with a notary, please express all pertinent facts clearly and politely in writing giving a clear description as to who all the parties are to the transaction; and what the notary did wrong. Our staff will do a two stage screening process for all negative reviews before posting. Step one - if there is any doubt about the review, we would contact the writer of the negative review by email, phone, or both, to make absolutely sure that the negative information is really true. Step two is to also give the notary a chance to write a rebuttle before deciding whether or not to post a negative review.