Enter Zip, City, or County... i.e. orange,NY or 90019
Search Method:    regular time edocs

Kansas Notary Fees, Application, and Commission Information

Kansas Notary Search
Kansas Notary Fees 
There is no statutory fee schedule in Kansas that a notary public must follow,
nor is there a prohibition against a notary public charging a fee. Therefore,
a notary public may charge a reasonable fee for the performance of a notarial act.

Become a Kansas Notary Public
You must be at least eighteen years old and reside in Kansas or reside in a 
neighboring state but be employed or run a business in Kansas to qualify for a 
notary commission and may fill out a Kansas notary application.  Applicants must 
not have any felony convictions, and would be disqualified if they have had any 
professional licenses revoked.  Applicants must have a $7500 notary bond.  The 
applicant must affix a clear impression of their notary seal on the application. 
The notary seal must include the name of the applicant, the words "Notary Public", 
"State of Kansas", but the expiration date should be left blank for now.  The applicant 
must take an oath in front of a notary public.  Once the application has been accepted, 
the applicant will receive a certificate, wallet card, and a Kansas notary handbook. The 
new notary can now notarize documents. The notary commission is current for four years.  
The expiration date is based on when the Secretary of State filed the application.  If 
the notary's name or address changes once they have a commission, they must file a change 
of status form with the Secretary of State's office.

The Kansas notary application includes general contact information and requires an 
imprint of the prospective notary's seal.  An oath of office is included in the application.  
The oath asks the affiant to swear that they are over the age of 18, can read an write 
English, and that they support the constitution of the United States and Kansas, and that 
they have not committed a felony or had a professional license revoked.  It also requires 
them to swear that they will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of a notary public 
according to the law.  The notary must also submit their surety bond information and a $25 
application filing fee.  A Kansas notary commission is good for four years. Once you are 
accepted as a notary, then you get your commission paperwork and a wallet card as well.